School Awards

Croghan Award Winner – 2014

Croghan Award Finalist 2011, 2016
The Croghan Award (also known as the Cardinal’s Award), is a very selective distinction that recognizes a school and its teachers for the students’ standardized test scores.Polk Brothers School Leadership Winner: 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2014-15, 2015-162009 BP Energy A+ for Energy Grant Winner2008 Illinois Sustainable School Distinction
Notable Individual Student Distinctions: The awards and/or scholarship designations listed below were bestowed on our students by outside agencies and/or organizations.
2016 UIC Economics Contest – Two winners Antonio Fawcett and Elias Sabbi

(Over 20 individual 4th grade winners from 2013-2016)

Daniel Murphy Scholarship Winners
2016: Andrew Gutierrez and David Angel Antunez
2015: Kevin Alcantara
2011: Ariana Rivera
2008: Miguel Aviles
2015 STEM Mystery Academic Challenge – Team Competition Champions
2015 Catholic Charities HIV/AIDs Awareness Contest – 2nd place, Andrew Gutierrez
2015 National Museum of Puerto Rican Art & Culture Art Contest – 2nd and 3rd place, Anayah Gutierrez and Kristina Mazon

2015 Archdiocesan School Choice Essay Contest – 2nd and 3rd place, Ismael Perez and Priya Bajaj

2014 Hispanic Heritage Organization Essay Contest – winner
City of Chicago DuSable Essay
4th grade winner or top 3 finisher: 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014
LINK Scholars:
2011: Noel Lewin
2010: Sydney Rainey

*2008 Sr. Carmen de Barros Scholar: MaryWendy Hernandez

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency essay and poster contests – Nine students won from 2009-2014.
Recent Accepting High Schools:
Whitney Young, Chicago High School for the Arts, Lincoln Park IB Program, St. Ignatius, Josephinum Academy, Lindbloom Math and Science Academy, Rauner College Prep, Northside College Prep, Willows Academy, DePaul College Prep, Lane Tech, Guerin Prep, Notre Dame, St. Patrick, Walter Payton College Prep, Westinghouse